The  Comunidade Intermunicipal  do Douro  is an administrative division of  Portugal  . It replaced the  Comunidade Urbana do Douro  , created in 2004.  It takes its name from the  Douro River  . The headquarters of the intercommunal community is  Vila Real  . The Douro includes parts of the former districts of  Bragança  ,  Guarda  ,  Vila Real  and  Viseu  . The population in 2011 was  205,157 over an area of ​​4,031.58 km². 

The Douro is a  subregion  NUTS3  of the  Northern Region  . The Douro sub-region covers the same area as the intermunicipal community, but includes the municipalities  Murça  (  intermunicipal community of  Alto Trás-os-Montes  ) and excluding the municipality  Vila Flor  . In 2011, the subregion had 205 902  and a total area of ​​4 108 km². 

Its economy is largely centered on the production of  wine  , particularly on the  harbor  and on the  Douro wine  not  fortified  the  wine area  DOC of the  Douro  . The whole region is mountainous and crossed by steep valleys.

The CIM Douro is composed of 19 municipalities:  

Municipality Population (2011)   Surface area (km²)  NUTS  III Region 
Murça 5,952 189.37 Alto Trás-os-Montes
Alijó 11,942 297.60 Douro
Armamar 6,297 117.24 Douro
Carrazeda de Ansiães 6,373 279.24 Douro
Freixo de Espada in Cinta 3,780 244.14 Douro
Lamego 26,691 165.42 Douro
Mesão Frio 4,433 26.65 Douro
Moimenta da Beira 10.212 219.97 Douro
Penedono 2952 133.71 Douro
Peso da Régua 17,131 94.86 Douro
Sabrosa 6,361 156.92 Douro
Santa Marta de Penaguião 7,356 69.28 Douro
São João da Pesqueira 7,874 266.11 Douro
Sernancelhe 5,671 228.61 Douro
Tabuaço 6,350 133.86 Douro
Tarouca 8,046 100.08 Douro
Torre de Moncorvo 8 572 531.56 Douro
Vila Nova de Foz Côa 7.312 398.15 Douro
Vila Real 51 850 378.80 Douro
Total 205 157 4031.58


The main rivers are the  Douro River  ,  river Corgo  ,  river Tua  and  Sabor River  . There is an airport in Vila Real: Aerodromo de Vila Real /  Douro  [VRL]. The  Douro railway line  was completed in 1887. The narrow gauge lines of the area (such as the  Corgo line  ) are now closed.

The main monuments are the  Cathedral  and the Mateus Palace in Vila Real, and the Remedios and Sé / Cathedral in Lamego. The  Alto Douro wine region  and the  prehistoric rock art site of the Côa Valley  are both classified by UNESCO as heritage sites.

Portugal’s Douro Valley Tour

Portugal’s River of Gold – Cruising the Douro River

Tour in Douro Valley